Book of Hook Forum Index Book of Hook
Also, I can kill you with my brain

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Doom 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
fechols

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:11 pm    Post subject: Doom 3 Reply with quote

Well I finally got my copy of this game (it's a jungle out there!) and have played for several hours. There's one thing that can be said with certainty at this point: this is the best game I have ever played. And I've been playing games since 1988, so that's saying quite a bit. Smile The levels, monsters, weapons, story, and general "feel" of the game are all rock-solid. The games by Id Software and Miyamoto and company (Nintendo) have a trademark tangibleness to them that makes the environment truly seem "real," in that all aspects of the game work together seamlessly.

It must be said that some people who have only played the game an hour or so are complaining loudly online, saying it seems like a tech demo. Well, duh! That's the WHOLE POINT! Of course it's a tech demo for the first couple of hours: they want you to just walk around and gape at the awesome graphics before you're being hunted by so many demons that you don't really have time to stand and gawk at every cool thing you see.