Book of Hook Forum Index Book of Hook
Also, I can kill you with my brain

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ActiveX - my experience
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
brianhook
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:25 am    Post subject: ActiveX - my experience Reply with quote

EDIT:

Since I've been slash-dotted on this -- good lord, it's a forum post to an obscure Web site -- I wanted to address some "issues" that people have brought up:

1. I don't know ActiveX programming very well at all. I'm no expert. I'm just pointing out the flaws. It's a useful and interesting technology, it's just dangerous as fuck as well. That's all I'm saying. No, this isn't news, but I didn't intend this forum post to become news to the Web. It's one step removed from a blog.

2. I wasn't trying to write some expose for slashdot or the community at large, I was mostly writing it down for the regular readers of my site who are, by and large, more like friends than they are "readers" or "community members". It wasn't intended to be some revelatory "OMG!!!" moment directed at the world.

3. I highly doubt what I've "revealed" here is news to virus and spyware authors, since they've been writing spyware like this for years now.

4. I use FireFox (and before that, Mozilla, and before that, IE with hardcore security settings), which is why I never realized the extent of ActiveX's stupidity.

5. I haven't worked at id in five years. If that's the only reason to print my comments...don't.

So I've been doing some ActiveX coding on the side for a couple days, stuff I'm not familiar with, and I'm just flat out _appalled_ at how bad that entire API and design is.